Area 166,900 km2
Population 44,567,475
Capital City Nanchang


Jiangxi was under the states of Chu in the Spring and Autumn Period. In 733 A.D. Jiangnan Dao (an ancient administrative division) was divided into two parts, the eastern Dao and western Dao. The western Dao was called Jiangxi (west of the Yangtze River) for short, hence its name. It was named Jiangxi province in Qing Dynasty (1368-1644), which has remain ever since. The Jinggang Mountains were the first rural revolutionary base area set up by the late Chairman Mao Zedong in 1927; Nanchang, a heroic city where the " August 1st" Uprising took place in 1927, the day is regarded as the founding of People's Liberation Army (PLA); Ruijin, the site for the central work-peasant democratic government during the Second Revolutionary War; and Anyuan, one of the birthplace of the Chinese worker's movement led by Mao Zedong and Liu Shaoqi.


Jiangxi is the main area of concentration of the Gan varieties of Chinese, spoken over most of the northern two-thirds of the province. Examples include the Nanchang dialect, Yichun dialect and Ji'an dialect. The southern one-third of the province speaks Hakka. There are also Mandarin, Huizhou, and Wu dialects spoken along the northern border.


JingdezhenStanding on the east side of Lake Poyang, Jingdezhen, a provincial municipality of Jiangxi, is among the 24 historical and cultural cities first named by the state and known in the world as the "city of porcelain". It began to make porcelain in the Han Dynasty, and late became the imperial kiln of Emperor Jingde in the Song Dynasty. Lushan tourist area With Mt. Lushan as its centre, it includes other scenic spots in Jiujiang, Xingzi, Hukou and Pengze, plus part of Lake Poyang and Changjiang River. Towering between the Changjiang River and Lake Poyang, Mt Lushan, counting as one of the most picturesque landscapes in China, is well-known for its natural beauty and pleasant climate. It is good both for sightseeing and recuperation.


Jangxi has a subtropical monsoon-type climate with wet summer and dry autumn, cloudy winter and cold spring. The average annual temperature is between 16ºC and 20 ºC (60.8 ºF and 68 ºF), the coldest month, January, is 3ºC-9ºC (37.4 ºF and 48.2 ºF), while the hottest, July, is 27ºC-31ºC (80.6 ºF and 87.8 ºF) with a highest temperature in the Poyanghu Basin. While the average annual rainfall is between 1,200 mm and 1,900 mm, it has intermittent drizzles in spring and rainstorms in summer but much less rainfall in autumn.